Medical Vocational Schools

Search For Vocational Schools By State


Schools By State

Job Outlook Information


Clinical Laboratory

Dental Assistant

Diagnostic Medical Sonographers

Massage Therapist

Medical Administrative Assistant

Medical Assistants

Dental Ophthalmic Laboratory Tech

Health Information Tech

Medical Transcriptionists

Nuclear Medicine Technologists

Nurses Aide

Occupational Therapy

Personal Home Care Aides

Physical Therapist

Personal Fitness Trainer

Psychiatric Assistant

Radiologic Technician

Surgical Technologist

Veterinary Technician


Home > Article Categories > Vocational Medical Schools > Central Carolina Technical College: Learn to Earn

Central Carolina Technical College: Learn to Earn

The original name of Central Carolina Technical College was Sumter Area Technical Education Center inaugurated in 1962.  Nine years later, it changed to Sumter Area Technical College.  In 1974, the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools accredited the institution because of offering vocational and technical programs.  In the fall of 1992, the College was given the current name.  Each year, they serve approximately 15,000 students who are enrolled in different programs.

Central Carolina Technical College has a very comprehensive Health Sciences Department. Within this department, Certificate, Diploma and Associate Degree Programs are offered.  Certificates are given for the following specializations: Health Science Preparation, Phlebotomy, Pre-Dental Hygiene, Pre-Occupational Therapy/Pre-Physical Therapy and Pre-Pharmacy Technician.  Medical Assisting, Practical Nursing and Surgical Technology are under the division of the Diploma programs.  The only Associate Degree Program offered is ADN (Associate Degree Nursing).

Furthermore, CCTC is not only approved by many organizations, but also a member of recognized associations.  For example, the South Carolina Department of Labor Licensing and Regulation Board of Nursing and the National League for Nursing Accrediting Commission (NLNAC) accredit the Associate Degree Nursing Program and the Practical Nursing Diploma.  Also, the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs, upon the recommendation of the Curriculum Review Board of the American Association of Medical Assistants Endowment (AAMAE), certifies the CCTC Medical Assisting program.  Finally, the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) accredits the Surgical Technology Program. 

Scholarships are available if required. There are three different types of scholarships: Endowed Scholarship in which students meet specific criteria, Full Scholarship in which the donor decide on the criteria in order to select the recipient and Partial Scholarship which allows the donor to determine the amount of the scholarship. Two of the requirements to get enrolled in the college are to have the GED or, at least, a minimum GPA of 2.0 achieved in an accredited high-school and the annual Health Care Provider. 


Find a Medical Vocational School

Advertise Now